Recognition for B-SMART researcher

María José Alonso, Professor of Biopharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology at the University of Santiago de Compostela (USC), has received the prestigious ‘Juan de la Cierva’ award 2021. The Juan de la Cierva National Research Prize is a technology transfer prize awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities. It is named after Juan de la Cierva y Codorníu, the Spanish engineer who invented the autogyro, a type of aircraft that is considered a precursor of today's helicopter. The award was created in 2001 and María José Alonso is only the second woman to receive this award.

You can read more about this major distinction and María’s work here.

Tweet this article