Honours for female B-SMART scientists

The Controlled Release Society (CRS) has announced the winners of their 2018 Awards. CRS was founded in 1978 as a non-profit organization devoted to the science and technology of controlled release. The field of controlled release encompasses scientific and technical efforts to regulate the spatial and temporal effects of agents in diverse areas including human and animal health as well as non-pharmaceutical areas such as agriculture, cosmetics and consumer products, and the environment.

The society grants their Founder Award since 1982, but 2018 marks the first year a woman is recognised for her outstanding contributions in the science and technology of controlled release: B-SMART partner Prof. María José Alonso (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela (USC)) is selected to receive this most prestigious award of CRS. She will also be inducted into the CRS College of Fellows, which recognizes CRS members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of delivery science and technology over a minimum of 10 years. B-SMART partner Ruth B. Schmid (SINTEF) receives the CRS Distinguished Service Award. Established in 1994, this award is presented to a CRS member who has exhibited exceptional commitment and service to the Society. The award is not automatically given each year, only in the years when there is an exceptional member who fits the criteria.

Awards will be presented during the 2018 CRS Annual Meeting award ceremony in New York City, USA, on July 22-24 2018. More information on the 2018 CRS awards can be found here.

Tweet this article